We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more

Aaron Copland’s Sketches and Rehearsal Score

Aaron Copland’s Sketches and Rehearsal Score

The music for Appalachian Spring is protected by copyright. The score is therefore not accessible online. However, earlier versions in the form of composition sketches and a piano draft used by Graham for her choreography have been digitized by the Library of Congress.

Martha’s Ballet: First Rough Sketches

May to July 1943

30 pages of sketches from the earliest time of Copland’s work on Appalachian Spring.

thumbnail image: CWS_03_01_copland_sketch1.jpg

Ballet for Martha: Rough Sketches

June 1943 to July 1944

112 pages of sketches notated in Hollywood, New York, and Cambridge, MA, over the course of the work’s composition. The sketches contain a range of materials, from entire worked-out passages to brief notes.

thumbnail image: CWS_03_02_copland_sketch2.jpg

Appalachian Spring: Rehearsal Score

Dated June 1944

50 page score for piano, prepared by Copland for Graham. This is a photochemical copy of the manuscript score, that was sent to Graham as a rehearsal score. It carries numerous annotations about the choreography, though only a few of them are in Graham’s hand.

thumbnail image: CWS_03_03_copland_rehearsal.jpg

Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy
Please send comments or suggestions about this Website to custserv.us@oup.com