We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more

E-book purchase
Choose a subscription

Downloaded copy on your device does not expire. Includes 4 years of Bookshelf Online.


Where applicable, tax will be added to the above price prior to payment.

E-book purchasing help


Inside Computer Music

Michael Clarke, Frédéric Dufeu, and Peter Manning

Publication Date - September 2020

ISBN: 9780190659653

432 pages
8 1/2 x 11 inches

In Stock


Inside Computer Music is an investigation of how new technological developments have influenced the creative possibilities of composers of computer music in the last 50 years. This book combines detailed research into the development of computer music techniques with nine case studies that analyze key works in the musical and technical development of computer music. The book's companion website offers demonstration videos of the techniques used and downloadable software. There, readers can view interviews and test emulations of the software used by the composers for themselves. The software also presents musical analyses of each of the nine case studies to enable readers to engage with the musical structure aurally and interactively.


  • Includes a comprehensive website with video and software examples
  • Contextualizes works in the computer music canon

About the Author(s)

Michael Clarke is Professor of Music at the University of Huddersfield, UK where he is currently Director of the IRiMaS project (Interactive Research in Music as Sound), funded by a European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant.

Frédéric Dufeu is Senior Research Fellow in Music and Music Technology at the University of Huddersfield and currently working on the IRiMaS project .

Peter Manning is Emeritus Professor of Music at Durham University.


"Clarke, Dufeu, and Manning analyze the roots of computer music by exploring the pivotal work, technology, and theories of multiple pioneer computer composers ... Each of the book's nine chapters showcases a pivotal piece ... A companion website allows readers to hear and understand these unique tonalities." -- S. Lenig, CHOICE

"It is rare to find such well-curated analytical material on electroacoustic music. I have known Francis Dhomont's Phonurgie since its creation and talked with the composer about it many times. I analyzed, performed, and taught the work for the past 20 years, and yet, there was so much new information to discover here. This book will deepen my appreciation for these compositions and present an excellent resource for my students." -- Hans Tutschku, Harvard University

Table of Contents

    Note on companion website
    Chapter 1. John Chowning - Stria
    Chapter 2. Barry Truax - Riverrun
    Chapter 3. Philippe Manoury - Pluton
    Chapter 4. Hildegard Westerkamp - Beneath the Forest Floor
    Chapter 5. Francis Dhomont - Phonurgie
    Chapter 6. Trevor Wishart - Imago
    Chapter 7. Jonathan Harvey - Fourth String Quartet
    Chapter 8. Cort Lippe - Music for Tuba and Computer
    Chapter 9. Natasha Barrett — Hidden Values — The Lock