We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more

E-book purchase
Choose a subscription

Downloaded copy on your device does not expire. Includes 4 years of Bookshelf Online.


Where applicable, tax will be added to the above price prior to payment.

E-book purchasing help


Gone to Texas

A History of the Lone Star State

Third Edition

Randolph B. Campbell

Publication Date - 15 March 2017

ISBN: 9780190642396

496 pages
6-1/8 x 9-1/4 inches

In Stock

An engaging account of the Lone Star State from the arrival of humans in the Panhandle to the opening of the twenty-first century


Gone to Texas: A History of the Lone Star State engagingly tells the story of the Lone Star State, from the arrival of humans in the Panhandle more than 10,000 years ago to the opening of the twenty-first century. Focusing on the state's successive waves of immigrants, the book offers an inclusive view of the vast array of Texans who, often in conflict with each other and always in a struggle with the land, created a history and an idea of Texas.

An Instructor's Resource Manual and a set of approximately 400 PowerPoint slides to accompany Gone to Texas, Third Edition, are now available to adopters. Please contact your local Oxford University Press representative for details.

New to this Edition

  • A thoroughly revised Chapter 19: Texas in the New Millennium, 2001-2016 now includes coverage from 2010 to 2016
  • An expanded discussion of the concept of the "Texas Mystique" in the twenty-first century
  • A revised and expanded select bibliography for every chapter

About the Author(s)

Randolph B. "Mike" Campbell is Regents Professor of History at the University of North Texas. He is the author of several books, including Sam Houston and the American Southwest, Third Edition (2006).

Table of Contents

    Maps and Illustrations

    1. The First Texans
    2. Exploration and Adventure, 1519-1689
    3. Spanish Texas, 1690-1779
    4. Spanish Texas in the Age of Revolutions, 1779-1821
    5. Mexican Texas, 1821-1835
    6. The Texas Revolution, 1835-1836
    7. The Republic of Texas, 1836-1846
    8. Frontier Texas, 1846-1861
    9. Empire State of the South, 1846-1861
    10. The Civil War, 1861-1865
    11. Reconstruction, 1865-1876
    12. The Old West, 1877-1900
    13. The New South and the Populist Revolt, 1877-1900
    14. The Progressive Era, 1901-1920
    15. The "Prosperity Decade," 1921-1929
    16. The Great Depression and World War II, 1929-1945
    17. The Rise of Modern Texas, 1945-1971
    18. Modern Texas, 1971-2000
    19. Texas in the New Millennium, 2001-2016
    20. The Texas Mystique in the Twenty-First Century

    Appendix 1
    Appendix 2
    Select Bibliography