We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more

Green Tea

and Other Weird Stories

J. Sheridan Le Fanu
Edited by Aaron Worth

25 June 2020

ISBN: 9780198835882

544 pages

In Stock

Oxford World's Classics

Price: £8.99

A landmark edition of Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu's shorter fiction, the form at which he most excelled



A landmark edition of Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu's shorter fiction, the form at which he most excelled

  • A landmark edition of Le Fanu's shorter fiction, the form at which he most excelled
  • The first critical edition of a substantial collection/selection of Le Fanu's shorter fiction
  • An introduction which contextualizes Le Fanu's fiction in relation to Irish history, the history of the British Empire, the history of the 'Weird', among other topics
  • A comprehensive bibliography and extensive Explanatory Notes
  • Stories taken from first periodical publication, including original periodical version of 'The Watcher'
  • Stories presented in chronological sequence, allowing for fullest and most complete picture of Le Fanu's development as a writer of horror/weird fiction over a career spanning three and a half decades

About the Author(s)

J. Sheridan Le Fanu

Edited by Aaron Worth, Associate Professor, Rhetoric, Boston University

Aaron Worth is an Associate Professor of Rhetoric at Boston University, author of Imperial Media (2014), and editor of The Great God Pan and Other Horror Stories by Arthur Machen (OUP 2018). His writing has also appeared in The Paris Review, the Times Literary Supplement, and leading scholarly journals including Victorian Studies. He is also an active member of the Horror Writers Association, with fiction appearing in, most recently, Vastarien and Cemetery Dance.

Table of Contents

    Note on The Text
    Select Bibliography
    A Chronology of Sheridan Le Fanu
    The Ghost and the Bonesetter
    The Fortunes of Sir Robert Ardagh
    The Drunkard's Dream
    A Strange Event in the Life of Schalken the Painter
    A Chapter in the History of a Tyrone Family
    The Mysterious Lodger
    Spalatro: From the Notes of Fra Giacomo
    Ghost Stories of Chapelizod
    An Account of Some Strange Disturbances in Aungier Street
    Ultor de Lacy
    An Authentic Narrative of a Haunted House
    Ghost Stories of the Tiled House
    Wicked Captain Walshawe, of Wauling
    Squire Toby's Will
    Madam Crowl's Ghost
    The Haunted Baronet
    The Vision of Tom Chuff
    Stories of Lough Guir
    The White Cat of Drumgunniol
    The Child that Went with the Fairies
    Laura Silver Bell
    Sir Dominick's Bargain
    Dickon the Devil
    Green Tea
    The Familiar
    Mr Justice Harbottle
    The Room in the Dragon Volant
    Explanatory Notes

Related Titles