Printer-friendly view |

Scarlet Ibis

Whatever it takes, I must get my brother back . . .

Author Gill Lewis

Suitable for:  9+ boys and girls. Fans of Michael Morpurgo, Lauren St John, and Sarah Lean.

Price:  £6.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-279356-0
Publication date: 01/01/2015
Paperback: 224 pages
Dimensions: 198x129mm

Loading
SuccessAdded. View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague

Description

The beautiful and deeply moving new story from Gill Lewis.
Red and Scarlet dream of one day flying across the ocean to Trinidad, where thousands of scarlet ibis fill the sky. When they're split up and sent to live with different foster families, Scarlet resolves to do whatever it takes to get her brother back.


Features

  • Longlisted for the 2015 Carnegie Medal.
  • Gill Lewis has sold over 200,000 books since her debut novel Sky Hawk published in 2011.
  • Gill's novels have won and been shortlisted for many awards, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, and the Carnegie Medal.
  • Major national consumer advertising and PR campaigns planned to tie in with publication.
  • Gill's previous book, Moon Bear (978-0-19-279354-6), was described by the Telegraph as 'moving and inspirational'.
  • Gorgeous package with fabulous chapter artwork by Mark Owen and lots of extra material in the end pages.
  • Visit Gill Lewis's website at www.gilllewis.com.
  • Also available as an eBook.

This page was last updated on 17 March 2019 at 04:30 GMT

Reviews

  • 'I absolutely loved this; a deeply moving account of two siblings sent to live with different foster families.' - Fiona Noble, The Bookseller
  • 'I thought the book was AMAZING just like all of Gill Lewis's other books! It was good all the way through and I couldn't stop reading! It was brilliant and very realistic!!' - Aisling, age 11
  • 'I really loved Scarlet Ibis! I could not stop reading from the moment I started. It was so enticing, you just wanted to know what happens next!' - Emma, age 10
  • 'Every page is a rollercoaster of exciting events and I never knew what the next page might bring.' - Harry, age 13
  • 'Scarlet Ibis is really good. The description is magic. I think Gill is one of the best authors ever!' - Eva, age 10
  • 'I loved reading Scarlet Ibis. I wanted to stay up all night to finish reading it. It is packed full of emotions. There are some sad moments, but some happy moments too.' - Isabella, age 11
  • 'An inspiring tale about how befriending birds helps Red and helps the family stay together.' - Teen Titles
  • 'I thought this book was amazing! ... I would recommend this book to people that like animals.' - Olivia Markey, Teen Titles
  • 'A touching and emotional, but never sentimental, realistic read, which grips from start to finish. Superb!' - Liz Smith, The School Librarian
  • 'a story that celebrates the often overlooked courage, loyalty and competence of children.' - Books for Keeps
  • 'heart-wrenching and emotional ... I was totally gripped' - Teaching English
Read more