Printer-friendly view |

The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles

Three outstanding books in one edition by a world-renowned author

Rosemary Sutcliff

Suitable for:  Age: 10+ years

Price:  £12.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-278998-3
Publication date: 03/06/2010
Paperback: 624 pages
Dimensions: 198x129mm

Availability: In stock.

SuccessAdded. View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague


The Eagle of the Ninth, The Silver Branch and The Lantern Bearers are recognized as being three of the best novels about Roman Britain written for children. Written by Rosemary Sutcliff, one the most acclaimed children's writers of the twentieth century, and loved around the world, these outstanding books are now available in one volume.

This page was last updated on 13 May 2021 at 08:30 GMT


  • [Praise for The Eagle of the Ninth]: Decades later, I can still hear echoes of The Eagle of the Ninth in my head: the chink of mail, the tired beat of the legionaries' feet. - The Independent
  • 'these tales of Roman Britain have yet to be surpassed for their non-patronising prose and adult dangers. Sutcliff makes Classics and archaeology uniquely thrilling for children' - Amanda Craig, The Times
Read more