Printer-friendly view |

A Story Like the Wind

A beautifully illustrated story of freedom, music, and seeking refuge.

Author Gill Lewis and Illustrator Jo Weaver

Suitable for:  9+ Ideal for readers of David Almond and Elizabeth Laird

Price:  £6.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-277210-7
Publication date: 29/08/2020 (estimated)
Paperback: 80 pages

Loading
SuccessAdded. View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague

This item is not yet published. Orders for not-yet-published items are supplied and charged immediately on publication.

Description

In a small boat spinning out on the sea sits a group of refugees, fleeing their war-stricken homes. They have nothing - except their memories, their stories, and their music. In this very special, lyrical fable, beautifully illustrated by Jo Weaver, Gill Lewis weaves an unforgettable tale of displacement, hope, and the search for freedom.



This page was last updated on 17 November 2019 at 04:30 GMT

Reviews

  • Lewis writes a powerful story, an intelligent conversation between myth and crude reality that wakes you up with a cold splash. Times Book of the Week. - The Times
  • Resonant, compassionate and enriched by evocative monochrome images. - Sunday Times
  • The illustrations are haunting and perfectly compliment the text ... It eloquently celebrates our common humanity and nurtures the values of kindness, compassion and tolerance ... Absolutely beautiful in both appearance and content and highly recommended. - The Book Bag
  • Gill Lewis weaves an unforgettable tale of displacement, hope, and the search for freedom. - The Guardian
  • A wonderful tribute to the importance of stories and hope. - The Week Junior
  • This year saw an influx of stories about migration. Among the best was Gill Lewis's A Story Like the Wind. - The Daily Telegraph
  • A moving and surprising tale about a storytelling session. - Picked as one of the Children's books of the year. - The Times
  • Gill Lewis's brief but beautiful story is rich in wonder, as well as being a timely reminder of the refugee crisis that continues today. - BookTrust
  • A Story Like the Wind is utterly beautiful; the words and illustrations perfectly intertwining to create a celebration of love, life and hope. - The Book Activist
Read more