Printer-friendly view |

 

The Hidden Kingdom

An ancient danger. A secret army. A brand new hero . . .

Ian Beck

Suitable for:  11+

Price:  £6.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-275563-6
Publication date: 06/10/2011
Paperback: 288 pages
Dimensions: 198x129mm

Other available formats:

Loading
SuccessAdded.View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague

Description

The young prince Osamu is dragged from his palace bed in the dead of night and told to flee for his life. With only his nurse's daughter, Lissa, to help him survive, he is thrust from his pampered existence into a hostile, snowy world - where the secret armies of the hidden kingdom are waiting for him to lead them . . .


Features

  • From the author of the internationally successful Tom Trueheart trilogy.
  • A beautifully-written and atmospheric icy fantasy which will entrance all who read it.
  • Will appeal to fans of Cornelia Funke and Philip Pullman.

Reviews

  • Praise for The Hidden Kingdom: This book has a timeless charm . . . It has the potential to become a classic. - www.thebookbag.co.uk
  • . . . an adventure story that will keep readers of 10-plus absorbed to the very last word. - Newbury Weekly News
  • Praise for The Secret History of Tom Trueheart: Ian Beck's prose has a crisp and springy rhythm. His illustrations, gnarled silhouettes, are marvellously complex. If you turn them upside down, they change completely. A volume to treasure. - Telegraph
  • a delightful book, and one with a wide potential audience . . . a story with a timeless quality and great charm for bedtime reading upwards. - Marcus Sedgwick, Literary Review
  • Praise for Tom Trueheart in the Land of Dark Stories: a pleasure to hold, read aloud and explore - Amanda Craig
  • the makings of a modern classic. The book is beautifully produced and the story itself has everything: pace, humour, a likeable hero and just the right amount of excitement to keep you turning the pages. - School Librarian
Read more