Printer-friendly view |

Sky Dancer

Can Joe find the strength inside to protect the moorlands?

Author Gill Lewis

Suitable for:  10+ boys and girls. Fans of Michael Morpurgo, Lauren St John, and Sarah Lean.

Price:  £6.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-274925-3
Publication date: 05/10/2017
Paperback: 272 pages
Dimensions: 198x129mm

Loading
SuccessAdded. View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague

Description

When the whole community is divided over the fate of the hen harriers that nest up there in the heather, Joe finds himself stuck right in the middle, with a choice to make, and a huge secret to keep.
Joe can't do what's right for everyone. But can he find the strength to fight for what he really believes in?

Features

  • An uplifting story of friendship, hope, and finding the courage to fight for what you believe in.
  • Emotionally powerful and gripping from the first page to the last.
  • With a highly topical and moving message about the plight of the hen-harriers, and their moorland habitat.
  • Gill Lewis has quickly established herself as one of the top animal writers for this age group, selling over 160,000 books since her debut Sky Hawk published in 2010.
  • Gill's novels have won and been shortlisted for many awards, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, and the Branford Boase Award.

This page was last updated on 10 December 2017 at 04:32 GMT

Reviews

  • "Lewis's confident, economical prose takes the reader up, up and away" - The Times
  • "Lewis writes beautifully about nature and animals" - Daily Mail
  • "Gill Lewis has established herself as the principal contemporary writer of animal stories, combining a vet's knowledge of her subject with a novelist's capacity for character and plot" - Telegraph
  • "The best book I have ever read. I couldn't stop reading it Its the BEST" - Lilybelle, Guardian Childrens Books website
  • "An emotionally rich and convincing story of loyalty, change, challenge and community ... Sky Dancer is a bold, brilliantly told story which makes readers feel they can surmount huge obstacles" - Playing by the Book
  • "Powerfully written from multiple perspectives, Lewis produces something very special with each new book" - The Daily Mail
  • "A bold and beautiful tale of friendship, nature and community" - School Zone
  • "A radical story with many thought provoking messages" - The Book Bag
  • "About social justice, rural communities and hen harriers on moorland, it is tightly written, sharply observed and well plotted" - one of the best children's books of the year - Sunday Times
  • "No one writes about nature with as much passion and intelligence as Gill Lewis, whose books tackle controversial environmental issues through memorable characters trapped in dilemmas" - The Daily Mail
Read more