Printer-friendly view |

Dreaming the Bear

A girl alone. A wounded bear. Together they are stronger.

Author Mimi Thebo

Suitable for:  Kids aged 10+. Readers who love Katherine Rundell and Piers Torday or are fans of books by the likes of Gill Lewis and Sarah Lean.

Price:  £6.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-274588-0
Publication date: 04/02/2016
Paperback: 192 pages
Dimensions: 198x129mm

Also available as an ebook

Loading
SuccessAdded. View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague

Description

Darcy feels alone in the vast snowy wilderness of Yellowstone National Park, until she comes across a wounded grizzly bear. Their unexpected, yet warm friendship gives Darcy a new lease of life, and gives her the courage to do the extraordinary.

Features

  • A beautifully-written lyrical tale that will stay with the reader long after they put it down.
  • Steeped in atmosphere, the setting invites the reader to get lost in this powerful story.
  • Inspired by the author's real life encounters with a wild bear.

This page was last updated on 18 November 2018 at 04:30 GMT

Reviews

  • 'Mimi Thebo captures an authentic teen voice and the writing throughout the story is hauntingly beautiful, almost dreamlike in places ... I can see adults and many young readers will love this book with its lyrical writing and powerful storyline. For the right type of reader this will undoubtedly be a five star book.' - TheBookbag blog
  • 'Not for the faint-hearted, this expert rite-of-passage tale - rich with snowshoes, carabiners and bear-awareness classes - stays with you after its logical but harrowing denouement.' - Alexander McCall Smith, The Observer
  • 'Mimi Thebo's story is a mixture of dreamy scenery, awesome wildlife, and coming-of-age dilemmas.' - The Book Trust
  • 'Mimi Thebo has created an atmospheric book, with great pace and wonderful characters.' - My Book Corner
  • 'Hauntingly beautiful' - Cotswold Life
  • 'I would hope that this book is nominated for an award' - The School Librarian
Read more