Printer-friendly view |

Gorilla Dawn

Two children, one gorilla, and their incredible journey to freedom.

Author Gill Lewis

Suitable for:  10+ boys and girls. Fans of Michael Morpurgo, Lauren St John, and Sarah Lean.

Price:  £6.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-273918-6
Publication date: 07/04/2016
Paperback: 336 pages
Dimensions: 198x129mm

Loading
SuccessAdded. View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague

Description

Imara and Bobo are two children living with a band of rebel soldiers in the African jungle. When an orphaned gorilla is brought to their camp they swear to protect it. But in their war-ravaged world, can they ever find true safety?


Features

  • Gill Lewis has quickly established herself as one of the top animal writers for this age group, selling over 160,000 books since her debut Sky Hawk published in 2010.
  • Gill's novels have won and been shortlisted for many awards, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, and the Branford Boase Award.
  • Major national consumer advertising and PR campaigns planned to tie in with publication, as well as ongoing PR efforts throughout the year to raise Gill's profile.
  • Gill's previous book, Scarlet Ibis, was described by Lorna Bradbury in the Telegraph as 'perhaps the most uplifting novel I have read this year'.
  • Gorgeous package with fabulous chapter artwork by Mark Owen and lots of extra material in the end pages.
  • Visit Gill Lewis's website at www.gilllewis.com.

This page was last updated on 13 January 2019 at 04:30 GMT

Reviews

  • 'I think Gill is one of the best authors ever!' - Eva, age 10
  • 'Lewis's confident, economical prose takes the reader up, up and away.' - The Times
  • 'Lewis writes beautifully about nature and animals.' - Daily Mail
  • 'Gill Lewis has established herself as the principal contemporary writer of animal stories, combining a vet's knowledge of her subject with a novelist's capacity for character and plot.' - Telegraph
  • 'Powerful and thought-provoking from the start, I read it straight through to the end.' - Kerra Dagley, ReadingZone
  • 'A recommended read for wildlife lovers, would be travellers, and anyone who wants to engage with lives different from their own.' - Books for Keeps
  • 'Adventure and wildlife mix in this exciting story' - Angels & Urchins
  • 'Lewis's animal stories grow more powerful with each book ... This is a thrilling, thought-provoking adventure' - Sally Morris, Daily Mail
  • 'Not many people can set out to explain the backstory of the mineral coltan to children and produce a thrilling adventure story. But vet-turned-author Gill Lewis is a rare talent.' - Lucy Siegle, The Observer Magazine
Read more