Printer-friendly view |

The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth

A plucky orphan, a dark secret, and a thrilling race against time!

Julia Lee

Suitable for:  9+ boys and girls

Price:  £6.99

ISBN: 978-0-19-273367-2
Publication date: 01/08/2013
Paperback: 336 pages
Dimensions: 198x129mm

Loading
SuccessAdded. View basket

You can use the basket to:

  • pay by credit card
  • order on account
  • forward to a colleague

Description

Newly-orphaned Clemency is entirely alone, until she's taken in by the Marvels. But where are her family? Why is she set to work as a scullery maid in the very house she travelled from India to live in? And in the face of grave danger, how are some marvellous but not-quite-genuine Red-Indians going to save her? Or can she save herself first?

Features

  • A thrilling adventure mystery with magic, skulduggery, dark family secrets, and derring-do! The most fun you can have with a book!
  • Featuring a wonderfully-drawn cast of quirky and memorable characters.
  • Extremely appealing heroine whose good sense, courage, and honesty win the day.
  • A charming Victorian setting made familiar by classics such as Oliver Twist, Sherlock Holmes, and The Secret Garden.
  • Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Eva Ibbotson.
  • Available as an eBook (9780192733689).

This page was last updated on 16 June 2019 at 05:30 GMT

Reviews

  • 'This is a glorious mix of the essences of The Secret Garden , the Lemony Snicket books and a large dollop of inventiveness. It really is a wonderful read.' - www.waterstones.com
  • 'There's skulduggery, dark secrets and derring-do ahoy in this Victorian mystery adventure with a dash of dark humour.' - The Bookseller
  • 'A gutsy orphan, outrageous villainy, a delicious hint of danger, and a whole lot of heart. What more could you want?' - Sara Starbuck, author of The Dread Pirate Fleur books
  • 'A thrilling tale about a small, shy orphan; the tiniest mite can pack the biggest bite!' - Libby, aged 11
  • 'Clemency wriggles for all she's worth through sticky situations!' - Jasmine, aged 9
  • 'Thrilling and exciting . . . It left me wondering what was going to happen next. I didn't want to put it down! Full of suspense and action-packed.' - Amy, aged 10
  • 'Clemency Wrigglesworth is fantastic. It is my favourite book I have ever read. The description is magical. It is fantastic!' - Eva, aged 9
  • 'With an ensemble of offbeat characters, plenty of jaunty dialogue and a plucky heroine who will appeal to both boys and girls, The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth hits the mark. Always entertaining, the bouncy plot will jostle you along.' - Annabel Pitcher, Guardian
  • A spirited heroine...Clemency Wrigglesworth, in the fine novel by Julia Lee - Waterstones.com
  • 'Julia Lee's storytelling has a distinctly modern voice, yet the framework of the novel is skilfully constructed with due respect for the Victorian literary tradition it represents... could inspire young readers to have a go at enjoying some of the classic fiction her adventures echo.' - Teach Primary
Read more