Printer-friendly view |

top banner

Nelson Thornes Shakespeare for CSEC

This best-selling series provides a comprehensive introduction to individual Shakespeare plays for students working towards CSEC

Each companion in this series combines a play-specific contextual introduction with detailed glossaries and further questions to create a full learning and revision resource for students, fostering interest in the plays themselves alongside a solid foundation for exam technique. Key features include:

• Detailed focus on language, imagery and theatricality, balanced by a wider study of characters and context
• Side-by-side text and glossary with line-referenced notes and clear explanations of obscure words and phrases
• Introductory essays, providing students with Shakespeare’s literary and historical context as well as targeted background information specific to each play
• Discursive questions, encouraging continual textual analysis, deep learning and good exam technique
• Scene-by-scene guidance for learning, including regular plot summaries and contextual references linking key characters and themes across the play

Series contains:

• Julius Caesar
• Macbeth
• The Merchant of Venice
• A Midsummer Night’s Dream
• The Tempest
Read more
See all resources
Nelson Thornes Shakespeare for CSEC