Printer-friendly view |

English assessment FAQs

Key changes

Q: What's happening to assessment?

A: The old National Curriculum Levels have been removed and the DfE has stated there’s no intention to replace them, and the expectation is that schools will introduce new systems for monitoring progress and assessment.


Q: Will there be any guidance on attainment targets and assessment?

A: Schools must devise an assessment system that allows them to assess the content and skills required by the programme of study, whilst still ensuring all pupils make progress. Any assessment system that schools devise for themselves will need to be at least as good as the previous system of levels when inspected by Ofsted.


Q: Can I still use levels if I wish?

A: It's expected that some schools may continue to use levels for the time being, while they are developing a new approach. The current level descriptors can be used to mark the students' responses to the end of unit assessment tasks.

New marking schemes

Q: And if I'd like to use a new marking scheme?

A: Ignite English has developed new marking scales for Reading, Writing and Spoken English. You can take a closer look at them here and they are also included within the Kerboodle: Lessons, Resources and Assessment module. The first number notionally relates to the Year, while the second relates to the level of challenge/achievement, with 1 being the lowest and 3 the highest.