Printer-friendly view |

TreeTops Myths and Legends banner

TreeTops Myths and Legends

Fabulous tales from around the world

Introduce your junior readers to the power of these stories through their classic plots and compelling characters, in a collection of fabulous tales which have stood the test of time. 

These accessible retellings offer the perfect way in to understanding these age-old fables - making them perfectly matched to the new National Curriculum too.

  • Expertly levelled using our unique Oxford Assessment & Levelling system which enables you to continually assess every child and make sure they have the right book for them
  • Includes 24 tales from around the world, including China, Iraq and New Zealand
  • Rich stories encourage awareness of different cultures and are perfect for encouraging talk, drama and writing
  • Full of thrilling themes, incredible characters and stunning artwork

Series contains:

  • 24 myths and legends
  • Oxford Reading Tree Levels 10 to 17
  • Titles include: The Legend of Robin Hood, King Midas and Other Stories, Dragon Tales and The Journey of Odysseus
See all resources
View structure chart (PDF)

Find out more about TreeTops Myths and Legends

Book an appointment with a rep

Book an appointment

Get free advice and resource support with a visit from your local educational consultant

Take a look inside

See inside this Level 11 title, Merlin and the Lost King of England

Free teaching notes

Take a look at this sample of our Teaching Notes, free to download at


Free teacher support

Register for free to find teaching notes for all our titles on Oxford Owl


  • "This genre is a perfect tool to develop the children's awareness of other cultures. As I was reading them I was conjuring up activities that you could do with the children, to support writing."

    Literacy Co-ordinator, Leckhampton Primary School, Cheltenham