Journals Higher Education



Published: 12 May 2011

320 Pages | 63 musical examples


ISBN: 9780195393842

Also Available As:


Also Available In:

Bookseller Code (AE)

The Studio Recordings of the Miles Davis Quintet, 1965-68

Keith Waters

Oxford Studies in Recorded Jazz

  • First study to consider the second quintet studio recordings in their entirety
  • Sets the work of the quintet in a broader perspective that addresses the musicians' earlier experiences, avant garde jazz of the 1960s, and Davis's eventual turn to jazz-rock fusion
  • Transcriptions and commentary offer a remarkably detailed view of compositions, improvisations, and group interaction
  • Clarifies and addresses problems, inconsistencies, and inaccuracies of earlier sources, some widely transmitted (such as jazz fake books)