Journals Higher Education



Published: 01 August 2008

352 Pages

ISBN: 9780199539970

Also Available As:


Request Examination Copy

Bookseller Code (11)

The Figaro Trilogy

The Barber of Seville, The Marriage of Figaro, The Guilty Mother

Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais
Translated by David Coward

Oxford World's Classics

  • The only English translation of all three Figaro plays in one volume.
  • Printing the trilogy together allows the reader to follow the development of the characters.
  • Popularity of the first two plays as the sources of operas by Mozart and Rossini.
  • Introduction surveys Beaumarchais' life, his annexation by opera, the evolution of the trilogy and how it reflects his growing technique as a playwright and the evolution of his humanitarianism.
  • Explanatory notes clarify references in the text and explain cultural differences.
  • Reputation of David Coward as author and translator, and past winner of the Scott Moncrieff Prize for translation.

Also of Interest