Journals Higher Education



This item is not yet published. It is available for pre-orders and will ship on 06 October 2018.

Notify Me When In Stock

1,440 Pages | 6 black and white illustrations

8.5 x 5.3 inches

ISBN: 9780198119586

Bookseller Code (06)


The Complete Works of Oscar Wilde: Volume IX Plays 2: Lady Lancing (The Importance of Being Earnest); Volume X Plays 3: The Importance of Being Earnest, A Wife's Tragedy (fragment)

2-volume set

Edited by Joseph Donohue

  • Fully annotated critical editions of two of Wilde's plays, with extensive commentaries and additional materials
  • Provides a full compendium of new knowledge and understanding of these works, in their own time and beyond
  • Comprehensive, near-book length historical and editorial introductions
  • The first full critical edition of Lady Lancing
  • Allows systematic insight into the differences between these two related texts, and the implications for understanding the differing ambitions of author and producer
  • The most authoritative edition of the fragmentary Wife's Tragedy, set here in the context of Wilde's developing dramaturgy