Journals Higher Education



Published: 20 November 2007

224 Pages | 1 B/W illustrations

ISBN: 9780748623716

Also Available As:

Bookseller Code (06)


Gabriel Egan

Published by Edinburgh University Press

  • A chronology of Shakespeare's career as an actor/dramatist that locates him within the theatre industry of his time,li>New readings of twelve plays that form a core of the Shakespeare canon: A Midsummer Night's Dream, Much Ado About Nothing, Richard 2, Henry 5, Hamlet, Othello, All's Well that Ends Well, The Winter's Tale, Macbeth, Measure for Measure, The Tempest, and Timon of Athens
  • Critical analyses organized by genre (comedies, histories, tragedies, and romance) and by four key critical approaches: authorship, performance, identities, and materialism
  • An extensive resources section, including a glossary of the important critical terms that are often used in debates about Shakespeare

Also of Interest