Journals Higher Education
Important OUP's Response to COVID-19 Learn more



Published: 16 February 2011

480 Pages | 100 music ex.

6-1/8 x 9-1/4 inches

ISBN: 9780199740505

Also Available As:


Request Examination Copy

Bookseller Code (06)

Modern Music and After

Third Edition

Paul Griffiths

  • Provides the most comprehensive study in English of musical composition from 1945 on
  • Offers a keen examination of how important composers have responded to the constant flux of their cultural environs, both socially and technically
  • Griffiths is considered by many in the field the finest writer on modern "classical" music in the English language today

New to this Edition:

  • Discusses the music of the fifteen years since the publication of the previous edition
  • Addresses the recent and enormous burgeoning of musical scholarship focusing on the latter half of the Twentieth Century
  • Includes a new fourth part: "After Postmodernism: the 1990s and 2000s"

Also of Interest