Journals Higher Education
Important OUP's Response to COVID-19 Learn more



Published: 14 January 2016

576 Pages | Maps


ISBN: 9780199664337

Also Available As:


Request Inspection Copy

Bookseller Code (TD)

Hellenistic Lives

including Alexander the Great

Robin Waterfield and Andrew Erskine

Oxford World's Classics

  • A comprehensive selection of ten of Plutarch's Lives from the Hellenistic period, tracing the rise of Macedon and Alexander's conquest of the Persian empire to the defeat of King Philip V
  • Plutarch is a crucial source for the turbulent period of Greek history following Alexander's death through to the arrival of the Romans. These Lives document Greek reaction to conquest first by the Macedonians and then the Romans
  • Highly readable translation by one of the best translators of Greek prose
  • Combines the life of Alexander the Great with those of other colourful figures such as the orator Demosthenes, Demetrius the Beseiger, and the Roman general Flamininus
  • Invaluable introduction and notes by Andrew Erskine, a specialist in Hellenistic history and Roman imperialism. The volume includes individual introductions to each Life, maps, and an index

Also of Interest