Journals Higher Education
Important OUP's Response to COVID-19 Learn more

Price: Available on Request

Available to rent from Edition Peters

Published: 22 July 1994

Duration: 15 minutes

Difficulty: Moderately Difficult - Difficult

ISBN: 9780193620193

Michael Berkeley

Concerto for Viola

Conductor's score and parts on hire

Forces or Category: Solo viola & full orchestra

Orchestration: vla solo, 2 fl (I+picc), 2 ob (I+ca), 2 cl (I+bcl), 2 bn (I+cbn), 3 tpt (all+flugel, I+tpt in D), 4 hn, 3 tbn, tba, timp, 4 perc (tbell, vib, tam (med), sz cym, w blk, BD, cbell, sus cym, crash cym, tom (low, med, high), SD) hp, str

The concerto is cast in a single movement. The first two thirds of the music is built over a slow pulse. Intervals derived from the whole tone ...

Also of Interest