Journals Higher Education



Published: 01 October 2019

288 Pages

6-1/8 x 9-1/4 inches

ISBN: 9780190077136

Also Available As:


Also Available In:

Bookseller Code (01)

Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers: Secular & Sacred Music to 1900

Edited by Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft

  • Follow-up volume to the Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers: Concert Music 1960-2000, winner of the 2017 Society for Music Theory Award for Outstanding Multi-Author Collection
  • Second in a series of four multi-author essay collections featuring detailed studies of music by women, each focused on different time periods and genres
  • Authors include some of the most prominent international scholars in the field of music theory and musicology, including Susan McClary, Harald Krebs, L. Poundie Burstein, and Jennifer Bain
  • Variety of analytical approaches used to gain insight into previously unexplored music

Also of Interest