Journals Higher Education
  • News
    • Oxford Authors Among Recipients of Kavli Prizes, 2014

Oxford Authors Among Recipients of Kavli Prizes, 2014

Released on June 2, 2014

Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announced on Thursday, May 29, 2014 that nine scientists had won this year's Kavli prizes. The winners will split million-dollar prizes awarded in three categories: neuroscience, nanoscience, and astrophysics. 

Among the recipients for the neuroscience prize are OUP authors John O'Keefe, co-editor of The Hippocampus Book, and Marcus E Raichle, co-editor of Angelo Mosso's Circulation of Blood in the Human Brain.  They share the prize with Brenda Milner of the Montreal Neurological Institute at McGill University in Quebec for their respective work on "understanding of memory and cognition by discovering and exploring specialized networks and regions in the brain."

The prize is named for the late Fred Kavli, the Norwegian-born inventor, businessman and philanthropist. Kavli prizes are awarded every two years.

About Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. It furthers the University's objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by publishing worldwide.

OUP is the world's largest university press with the widest global presence. It currently publishes thousands of new publications a year, has offices in around fifty countries, and employs some 6,000 people worldwide.

It has become familiar to millions through a diverse publishing programme that includes scholarly works in all academic disciplines, bibles, music, school and college textbooks, children's books, materials for teaching English as a foreign language, business books, dictionaries and reference books, and academic journals.