Journals Higher Education


  • IZA Prize in Labor Economics


Publication Date


Product Type


IZA Prize in Labor Economics RSS

Since 2002, the IZA-Institute of Labor Economics (formerly: Institute for the Study of Labor) has awarded the IZA Prize in Labor Economics for outstanding contributions to policy-relevant labor market research and methodological progress in this sub-discipline of economic science. The IZA Prize is the only international science prize awarded exclusively to labor economists. This special focus acknowledges the global significance of high-quality basic research in labor economics and sound policy advice based on these research findings. As issues of employment and unemployment are among the most urgent challenges of our time, labor economists have an important task and responsibility. The IZA Prize in Labor Economics is today considered one of the most prestigious international awards in the field. It aims to stimulate further research on topics that have enormous implications for our future. All prize-winners contribute a volume to the IZA Prize in Labor Economic Series published by Oxford University Press, which has been established to provide an overview of the laureates' most significant findings.
The now biennial IZA Prize in Labor Economics has become an integral part of the institute's manifold activities to promote progress in labor market research. Based on nominations submitted by the IZA Research Fellows, a high-ranking IZA Prize Committee selects the prize-winner.
Winners of the IZA Prize in Labor Economics
- 2016 Claudia Goldin, Harvard University
- 2015 Jan Svejnar, Columbia University
- 2014 Gary S. Fields, Cornell University
- 2013 Daniel S. Hamermesh, University of Texas at Austin and Royal Holloway, University of London
- 2012 Richard Blundell, University College London and Institute for Fiscal Studies
- 2011 George J. Borjas, Harvard University, and Barry R. Chiswick, George Washington University
- 2010 Francine D. Blau, Cornell University
- 2009 Richard A. Easterlin, University of Southern California
- 2008 Richard Layard, London School of Economics and Stephen Nickell, Nuffield College, Oxford University
- 2007 Richard Freeman, Harvard University and London School of Economics
- 2006 David Card, University of California, Berkeley, and Alan Krueger, Princeton University
- 2005 Dale Mortensen, Northwestern University, and Christopher Pissarides, London School of Economics
- 2004 Edward Lazear, Stanford University
- 2003 Orley Ashenfelter, Princeton University
- 2002 Jacob Mincer, Columbia University

Visit the IZA homepage:
Visit the IZA Prize homepage:

Show more
List | Grid
Cover for 9780198788072

Foundations of Migration Economics


George J. Borjas and Barry R. Chiswick

14 April 2019
IZA Prize in Labor Economics

List | Grid
Standing Orders Available