masthead
 

Chapter 05

Recommended sites:

Arts news digest: http://www.ArtsJournal.com

Alex Ross's The Rest is Noise http://www.therestisnoise.com

Andrew Dubber's New Music Strategies http://newmusicstrategies.com

Amanda Ameer's Life's a Pitch http://www.artsjournal.com/lifesapitch

Greg Sandow Future of Classical Music http://www.artsjournal.com/greg

Andrew Taylor's The Artful Manager http://www.artsjournal.com/artfulmanage

Jonathan Coulton http://www.jonathancoulton.com

Yo-Yo Ma's project: http://www.indabamusic.com/contests/show/yo-yomacontest

Andrew Dubber: http://www.NewMusicStrategies.com

Inexpensive ways to get up online: http://www.Yola.com

To start a blog free:
http://www.wordpress.com
http://www.blogger.com
http://typepad.com

Baritone Tom Meglioranza http://www.meglioranza.com

Violinist Rachel Barton Pine http://www.rachelbartonpine.com  (audience-oriented with an e-zine, podcasts, video, blog, free downloads)

eighth blackbird http://www.eighthblackbird.com  (great blog—reveals the "inner" eighth blackbird)

Ethel http://www.ethelcentral.com (great photos, description of projects, conveys sense of the ensemble)

Imani Winds http://www.imaniwinds.com  (check out their comprehensive education programming)

Conductor Edwin Outwater http://www.edwinoutwater.com  (creative and fun blog)

So Percussion http://www.sopercussion.com (inviting, distinctive)

Bassist/composer Ben Allison http://www.benallison.com (good graphics, distinct image)

Singer/songwriter Jill Sobule http://www.jillsobule.com  (terrific example of fan-funded recording projects)

Pianist Jonathan Biss http://www.jonathanbiss.com  (interesting, thought-provoking blog)

Bang on a Can http://www.bangonacan.org  (inventive)

Providence String Quartet's Community MusicWorks http://www.communitymusicworks.org (clear mission)

Register your domain name http://www.godaddy.com and http://www.register.com

Chokdee Rutirisari, of http://www.storyandstructure.com

Webhosting:
Dreamhost http://www.dreamhost.com
MediaTemple http://www.mediatemple.net

Help for DIY sites: http://www.webmonkey.com

Web Standards compliant http://www.webstandards.org

Google Analytics http://www.google.com/analytics to get free site traffic analysis

Email management systems:
http://www.ReverbNation.com
http://MailChimp.com
http://www.ConstantContact.com

Recruiting your street team volunteer sign-up http://www.ReverbNation.com

Ali Brown for help with newsletters  http://www.ezinequeen.com

Tips on writing blog posts:  http://www.copyblogger.com

Conductor Edwin Outwater's website http://www.edwinoutwater.com

Greg Sandow on the future of classical music http://www.artsjournal.com/greg

Marimbist Nancy Zeltsman's site http://www.nancyzeltsman.com is terrific and includes an introduction to the marimba and a memo to composers on writing for the instrument.

Interlude

Abbie Conant and William Osborne:
http://www.osborne-conant.org

Website Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy
Please send comments or suggestions about this Website to custserv.us@oup.com        
cover