Released on 4 Apr 2014

The William Walton Edition is now complete

Oxford University Press has published the final volume in its magnificent William Walton Edition, the only complete critical edition of a twentieth-century British composer’s oeuvre.

In March 2014 Oxford University Press published the final volume in its magnificent William Walton Edition. Walton’s entire output is now available to scholars and performers in a definitive and fully practical edition, based on the form in which the composer ultimately wished his music to be performed.

Simon Wright (Head of Rights & Contracts, Music) at OUP says:
‘The publication of a handsome twenty-four volume critical edition of William Walton’s complete output, including a detailed catalogue, is a magnificent achievement, and we feel extremely proud.’

The General Editor, David Lloyd-Jones—the eminent conductor, English music specialist, and founder of Opera North—invited a world-class expert to edit each volume. Each work was checked against the composer’s manuscript, previous published editions, and all other relevant material. Carefully researched introductory essays place the works in their historical context and in the composer’s oeuvre, and there are full critical notes.

Former Head of Music at OUP, Andrew Potter, says:
‘The William Walton Edition was undertaken as a material sign of the Press’s intention to do its best as Walton’s sole publisher; with its tradition of printed music publishing of the highest quality and its leading academic reputation, and under the dedicated and expert leadership of David Lloyd-Jones, it has been able to invest in a significant and unique venture in British publishing.‘

This outstanding publishing achievement was celebrated at OUP's Oxford offices on March 27 2014 with and event featuring speeches and a performance of the much-loved Façade: An Entertainment in which poems by Edith Sitwell are recited over an instrumental accompaniment by William Walton.

In the speech given by David Lloyd-Jones at this event he noted that 'no British composer born in the twentieth century has been better served by his publisher.'

For a complete listing of all volumes, sample pages and associated publications visit the Walton Edition series page

Notes for Editors

For further details please contact:
Simon Wright