Judge Gratwicke crowns mooting champions

Queen Mary, University of London has won the OUP and BPP National Mooting Competition 2013-2014. .

Theodore Anthony Meddick Dyson and Darren Low emerged as worthy moot champions, from a pool of talented student advocates each putting up an admirable fight. They receive a certificate, trophy and £750 each. Their win is a first for Queen Mary, University of London in this competition, fifteen years on from their last appearance in the final.

Darren Low, HHJ Gratwicke and Theodore Anthony Meddick Dyson. Picture by Arnaud Stephenson.

The second placed team, Malvika Jaganmohan and Tom Cornell of the London School of Economics share £700 between them and the other finalists, representing Aston University and Kaplan Law School win £150 of OUP books each.

His Honour Judge Charles Gratwicke of Chelmsford Crown Court returned once again to preside over the final and kept the students on their toes with some keen questioning.

In his summing up, Judge Gratwicke praised the hard work and depth of knowledge the students demonstrated, saying:

"You have displayed an exceptionally high standard of advocacy skills and the differences between the teams are paper-thin. You will all be successful because people of quality always find their niche”.

Paul Gascoyne, Senior Outreach Manager at BPP Law School said:

“Many congratulations to Mr Dyson and Mr Low on their well-deserved victory. The effort they put in was clear to see and they have represented Queen Mary University and their tutors with distinction”.

All the finalists of the 2013-2014 competition. Picture by Arnaud Stephenson.

The fictitious moot problem was a criminal division appeal, focussing on an incidence of marital coercion which led to a conviction for rape for the husband. It was praised by the judge as an interesting and topical exercise that enabled all the finalists to shine as advocates.

Read the final round moot problem - In the Court of Appeal (Criminal Division): R v Merchant

All the moot problems for this year’s competition were written by Rory Clarke. Rory is a barrister, currently serving as a military prosecutor at the Service Prosecution Authority. He was part of the winning City University London team at the OUP and BPP National Mooting Competition 2010-2011.

Register for the 2014-2015 competition now

If you would like to register your university to take part in the OUP and BPP National Mooting Competition in 2014-2015, or if you have any queries about the competition, then contact us by email: mooting.uk@oup.com.

Picture by Arnaud Stephenson.


Visit the Email Alerts sign up page