2015 Law Teacher of the Year Award shortlist revealed

The 2015 Law Teacher of the Year Award, sponsored by Oxford University Press, moves into its second stage as the six exceptional law teachers shortlisted for the national prize are announced.

This year’s finalists are:

For more information about any of the shortlisted candidates, click on their names above.

With an exceptionally high standard of nominations from universities around the country, the judging panel had a tough job selecting the final shortlist of six. It took days of reviewing the anonymous entries and hours of debate and discussion to agree on the finalists. The shortlisted candidates will now begin the rigorous second stage of the judging process, involving campus observations and interviews with students and colleagues.

The judges will return to the campuses of Surrey and Bangor for the second year in succession, as teachers from these institutions take part in the final.

While high quality teaching is undoubtedly essential in further and higher education, teaching excellence is rarely celebrated. Oxford University Press, through the Law Teacher of the Year Award, is pleased to be able to shine a light on the exceptional teaching going on in law schools around the UK and formally recognise the vital role played by law teachers.

Current Law Teacher of the Year, Luke Mason from the University of Surrey, said of the award, “there is something about acquiring legal learning that is a privilege, as a teacher you then have the additional privilege to communicate that knowledge. I am so grateful for this award’s existence, for drawing attention to the fantastic and valuable thing it is to be a law teacher”.

Professor Alastair Hudson of the University of Southampton joins the judging panel as Professor Julian Webb stepped down to take up a teaching post in Australia.

The winner will be announced at an awards luncheon in Oxford on 27th February 2015.

Legal education: are we teaching the right things?

Lawyer2B recently gathered together previous Law Teacher of the Year winners and finalists, including Odette Hutchinson, Graham Virgo and Dawn Watkins, to discuss the state of legal education in the UK and ask “are we teaching the right things?”


Watch the video and read the article here.

Candidates are assessed by our judging panel against the following criteria at all times:-

  • Displays an active interest in and development of approaches to teaching that influence, motivate and inspire students to learn
  • Demonstrates commitment to and support for the development of students as individuals
  • Uses effective communication skills that engage students in the learning experience
  • Involvement in scholarly activities that have influenced and enhanced learning both of students and colleagues


Visit the Email Alerts sign up page