Journals Higher Education

$27.95

Hardcover

This item is out of stock. It can be ordered now for delivery when back in stock.

01 September 2014

256 Pages

5.4x8.4 inches

ISBN: 9780199396702


Bookseller Code (1A)

Among the Ruins

Syria Past and Present

Christian Sahner

  • Provides a snapshot of Syria on the eve of war, through the eyes of a young American traveling through the Middle East
  • The book attempts to explain Syria's current predicament by reflecting on the long-term historical trends that have shaped the country over centuries
  • Accessible introduction to anyone seeking to understand Syria today
  • Written in the tradition of William Dalrymple's From the Holy Mountain and Thomas Friedman's From Beirut to Jerusalem
  • · The book provides an accessible introduction to the full sweep of Syrian history, from the rise of Christianity and Islam to the collapse of the Ottoman Empire and the current civil war
Share: