Journals Higher Education

$19.95

Paperback

01 May 2013

384 Pages | 50 halftones

5-1/2 x 8-1/4 inches

ISBN: 9780199974672


Also Available As:

Ebook


Bookseller Code (03)

A Great Aridness

Climate Change and the Future of the American Southwest

William deBuys

  • Author is Pulitzer Prize finalist, Pushcart Prize recipient, and Guggenheim fellow
  • Beautifully written naturalistic prose, in the tradition of Wallace Stegner and John McPhee
  • Compelling topic: the Southwest continues to be the fastest-growing and one of the most urban regions in the country--the book addresses whether or not its oasis-based culture will be able to continue
  • American Southwest is a proxy for semiarid ecosystems (e.g., Australia, the Middle East)--the climate effects in this region will shed light on climate events worldwide
Share: